Each year, MIT Technology Review recognises the most talented young innovators and entrepreneurs through the different editions of Innovators Under 35 celebrated around the world. Some of the winners from previous editions, like Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook), Sergey Brin (Google) or Danier Ek (Spotify), are now recognized worldwide. The aim is to encourage the development of new technologies to resolve current problems for our society.

The award ceremony for Innovators Under 35 Belgium 2016 will take place on the 25th of May, in Brussels. Last year, Yves Van Ingelgem received a special mention as Innovator of the Year 2015, and Arne Pauwels as Social Innovator 2015. Sébastien Deletaille, another winner from the 2015 edition will serve as the Master of Ceremony for this new edition, during which the two special mentions amongst the 8 winners of this year will be revealed: The Innovator of the Year and the Social Innovator.

MIT Technology Review, the prestigious magazine, property of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), is proud to announce the winners of the Innovators Under 35 Belgium 2016 awards:

  1. Xavier Damman – Open Collective
    A platform that enables groups to quickly set up a collective, raise funds and manage them transparently.

  2. Allison Derenne– Spectralys Biotech
    Innovative analytical solutions to develop the next generation of protein­based biodrugs faster and more accurately.

  3. Charles Fracchia – BioBright
    Developing software and hardware tools that enable to collect previously­uncollectable data in order to address the non­reproducibility of experiments and build smart labs.

  4. Geert Houben – Cubigo
    A platform to empower elderly people to live independently and healthily.

  5. Geert Slachmuylders– Turbulent
    Small hydro­power plants based on biomimicry (emulates nature's strategies) to provide reliable and affordable energy to remote communities.

  6. Jill Vanparys –Ava & Trix
    A story­driven app for children that makes experimenting with science and technology a fun activity.

  7. Steven Vercammen – EVapp
    An emergency volunteer application that bridges the time between an emergency call and the arrival of the paramedics.

  8. Guillaume Wegria – Fyteko
    A bio­stimulant that increases the resistance of plants to droughts.

The awards ceremony will take place on May 25th in Brussels. Register to attend it here!